

O'Levels & IGCSE Pakistan Studies Paper 1 History Timeline

BY TEAM MOJZA

Section 1:

- Downfall of the Mughal Empire

Year	Event
1600	Royal Charter granted to the EIC
1658	Aurangzeb seizes control
1690	Another base at Calcutta
1707	Aurangzeb dies
1719	M. Shah takes con Emperor
1754	Reign of Alamgir II
1748	Ahmad Shah becomes Emperor

- The EIC and Battles

Year	Event
1833	Government of India Act
1838	Bahadur Shah II ascends the throne

1843	Annexation of Sindh
1849	Annexation of Punjab
1852	Doctrine of Lapse (Lord Dalhousie)
1856	Oudh taken under British rule

- War of Independence:

Year	Event
1857	January: British announce greased cartridges be used March: Sepoys executed for refusing to use cartridges May: Uprising in Meerut September: British regain Delhi + Lucknow
1858	June: Lakshmibai killed Aug: War declared

- Sir Syed Ahmad Khan

Year	Event
1850	Aligarh Movement by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
1859	A school in Moradabad
1860	The Loyal Muhammadans of India & Causes of the Indian Revolt
1863	A Scientific Research Society opened
1864	Ghazipur institute
1866	Aligarh Gazette journal being issued
1967	Hindi-Urdu Controversy/Two-Nation Theory
1969	He went to Britain
1875	M.A.O (Mohammedan Anglo Oriental) school in Aligarh
1877	M.A.O college opened

1885	Indian National Congress (INC) formed
1886	Muhammadan Educational Conference (MEC)
1893	Mohammedan Defence Alliance
1898	Sir Syed died

- Languages:

Year	Event
1900	Hindi declared as 2nd official language

Section 2

- Hindu-Muslim relations and events:

Year	Event
1905	Partition of Bengal
1906	Simla Deputation
1908	Press Act
1909	Morley-Minto Reforms
1911	Reversal of the partition
1912	Outbreak of the Balkan Wars
1914	Outbreak of the WW1

1916	Lucknow Pact
1918	End of WW1
1919	Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms
1919	Rowlatt Act
1919	Amritsar Massacre

- Khilafat Movement & Negotiations

Year	Event
1919	Treaty of Versailles
1919	First and Second Khilafat Conference
1920	Treaty of Sevres
1920	Non-cooperation
1920	Hijrat to Afghanistan
1921	Third Khilafat Conference
1922	Chauri-Chaura incident
1923	Hindu Mahasabha founded
1927	Delhi Proposals

- Up to RTCs

Year	Event
1928	Nehru report
1929	Jinnah's 14 points
1930	Salt March
1930	Allahabad Address
1930	First RTC
1931	Second RTC
1932	Communal Award
1932	Third RTC
1933	Now or Never by Rahmat Ali
1935	Government of India Act
1937	Congress wins election
1937-1939	Rule of Congress
1939	Day of Deliverance

- Independence

Year	Event
1940	Pakistan Resolution
1942	Cripps Mission
1942	Quit India Resolution
1944	Gandhi-Jinnah talks

1945	Simla Conference
1945	Elections
1946	Cabinet Mission Plan
1946	Direct Action Day
1947	3rd June Plan
1947	Independence

Section 3

- Historical Events (1947-1999)

Year	Event
1947	Pakistan becomes a member of UNO
1948	Ceasefire in Kashmir India invades Hyderabad (Deccan)
1949	Objectives Resolution passed Liaquat-Nehru Pact; PRODA introduced
1950	Basic Principles Committee drafted constitution
1951	Liaquat Ali Khan assassinated A Five Year Plan
1952	Revised Report of Basic Principles Committee
1953	Food and water shortages in Pakistan due to Korean War, U.S aid
1954	Constitutional Crisis/Maulvi Tamizuddin's case Membership in SEATO
1955	General Elections The 'One Unit' Policy Membership in CENTO

1956	New constitution formed (parliamentary form of govt.)
1957-1958	Political instability/change of PMs
1958	Martial Law imposed
1959	Basic Democracies
1962	A new constitution (presidential form of govt.) Oil refinery set up in Pakistan
1964	Regional Cooperation Development (RCD) with Iran and Turkey
1965	War with India
1967	Islamabad as new capital
1969	Ayub Khan resigns
1970	General Election Sheikh Mujib-ur-Rahman's Six Points
1971	Operation Searchlight Civil War in East Pakistan
1972	Pakistan left SEATO, CENTO and Commonwealth Zulfikar Ali Bhutto became Prime Minister
1973	Constitution of 1973 (parliamentary form of govt.)
1974	Lahore Summit organised by OIC India carried Nuclear tests; Nuclear race started
1977	General Elections of 1977; rigging by PPP Operation Fairplay, military coup by Zia-ul-Haq
1978	National Assembly and other assemblies dissolved Martial Law imposed by Zia-ul-Haq
1979	Bhutto hanged; murder of Nawab Ahmed Kasuri Start of Afghan-Soviet War, Afghan Jihad (1979-88) in Afghanistan
1980	Policy of Islamisation; Hudood Ordinances by Zia
1983	Siachen Glacier issue
1984	Referendum for Zia

100-	
1985	General Elections of 1985; Muhammad Khan Junejo became PM Eighth Amendment in constitution
1988	Ojhri Camp Incident Martial Law lifted Zia died in plane crash General Elections; Benazir Bhutto became Prime Minister Vote of No confidence
1989	Benazir met Rajiv Gandhi
1990	Pucca Qila Massacre; drug trafficking to Pakistan Govt. dismissed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan with the Eighth Amendment
1991	Fresh elections, Nawaz Sharif became Prime Minister with the support of IJI. Yellow cabs schemes; BCCI scandal; Co-operative societies scandal, Kalashinklov culture Twelfth Amendment and Shariat Bill passed
1993	Govt. dismissed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan with the Eighth Amendment. Sharif's case in Supreme Court; President and Prime Ministerboth resigned General Elections; PPP won and Benazir became Prime Minister Farooq Ahmed Leghari appointed as President
1996	Mir Murtaza Bhutto killed in police ambush Devaluation of Pakistani rupee and loss to US aid Asif Ali Zardari sent to jail for corruption and misuse of power Train March by Nawaz Sharif from Karachi to Peshawar Govt. dismissed by President Farooq Ahmed Leghari with Eighth Amendment
1997	Nawaz Sharif becomes Prime Minister with two-third majority seats Thirteenth Amendment and Fourteenth Amendment in the constitution
1998	Nuclear tests carried out by Pakistan Criticism by USA, UK and Western powers; economic sanctions placed
1999	Lahore Declaration; Kargil Conflict Pervez Musharraf appointed Chief of Army Staff Overthrew Nawaz Sharif by a military coup

- Political rule (1947-99)

Year	Event
1947-1948	Jinnah/Quaid e Azam as Governor General Liaquat Ali Khan-Prime Minister
1948-1951	Khwaja Nazimuddin-Governor General Liaquat Ali Khan- Prime Minister
1951-1955	Ghulam Muhammad-Governor General Khwaja Nazimuddin-Prime Minister Muhammad Ali Bogra-Prime Minister
1955-1958	Iskander Mirza- President Chaudhry Muhammad Ali-Prime Minister Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar-Prime Minister Hussain Shaheed Soharwardhy as Prime Minister Feroze Khan Noon as Prime Minister Ayub Khan as Chief Martial Law Administrator
1958-1969	Ayub Khan-CMLA
1969-1971	Yahya Khan-CMLA
1971-1973	Zulfikar Ali Bhutto-CMLA
1973-1978	Fazal Elahi Chaudhry as President Zulfikar Ali Bhutto as Prime Minister
1978-1988	Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq as CMLA Muhammad Junejo Khan as Prime Minister
1988-1990	Ghulam Ishaq Khan as President Benazir Bhutto as Prime Minister
1990-1993	Ghulam Ishaq Khan as President Nawaz Sharif as Prime Minister
1993-1996	Farooq Ahmed Leghari as President Benazir Bhutto-Prime Minister
1977-1999	Nawaz Sharif-Prime Minister

A Note from Mojza

This timeline for Pakistan Studies (2059/01) has been prepared by Team Mojza, covering the content for O Level 2022-2025 syllabus. The content of this timeline has been prepared with utmost care. We apologise for any issues overlooked; factual, grammatical or otherwise. We hope that you benefit from these and find them useful towards achieving your goals for your Cambridge examinations.

If you find any issues within these notes or have any feedback, please contact us at support@mojza.org.

Acknowledgements

Authors:

Mahnoor Adnan

Proofreaders:

Aroosham Mujahid Esa Khan Mussarat Fatima Mujtaba Azeem

Designers:

Fasiha Raza Jawairia Shaikh

The content of these notes may not be republished or redistributed without permission from Mojza. All diagrams have been designed by Team Mojza except where cited.

^{© 2024} Mojza. All rights reserved.