Timeline 1600-1900

Section I: Cultural and Political Background to the Pakistan Movement

1600: EIC established in East of Africa (private company)

1608: British landed at Surat in India

1612: Shah Jehan gave permission for trade

1657: Aurangzeb as ruler

1664: First base at Bombay and later in Madras

1686: British started their own coins, Aurangzeb crushes British power

1690: Another base at Calcutta

1707: Aurangzeb died

1756: EIC base in Calcutta besieged by Siraj-ud-Daulah

1757: Battle of Plassey

1761: Battle of Panipat

1764: Battle of Buxar

1782: 1st Marathan War

1784: Pitt's India Act

1799: Anglo Mysore War by Tipu Sultan

1803: British captured Delhi

1818: 2nd Marathan War

1843: Annexation of Sindh

1846: Battle of Aliwali

1849: Annexation of Punjab

1852: Doctrine of Lapse by Lord Dalhousie

1856: Oudh taken under British rule

1857: War of Independence

1850s: Aligarh Movement by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

1859: A school in Muradabad

1860: The Loyal Mohammadans of India & Causes of the Indian Revolt

1863: A Scientific Research Society opened

1864: Ghazipur institute

1866: Aligarh Gazette journal being issued

1967: Hindi-Urdu Controversy/Two-Nation Theory

1869: He went to Britain

1875: M.A.O (Mohammadan Anglo Oriental) school in Aligarh

1877: M.A.O college opened

1885: Indian National Congress (INC) formed

1886: Mohammadan Educational Conference (MEC)

1893: Mohammadan Defence Alliance

1898: Sir Syed died

1900: Hindi declared as 2nd official language

Timeline 1900-47

A Mac

Section II: The Emergence of Pakistan 1905-47

1905: Partition of Bengal Swadeshi Movement

1906: Simla Deputation/Formation of All India Muslim League (AIML)

1908: Press Act Passed

1909: Morley-Minto Reforms

1911: Reveral of Partition of Bengal **1912:** Outbreak of the Balkan Wars

1914: Outbreak First World War (1914-18)

1916: Lucknow Pact

1919: Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms

Rowlatt Act

Amritsar Massacre

Emergence of Khilafat Movement

1920: Non-cooperation movement

1922: Campaign called off

1923: Hindu Mahasabha formed

1927: The Delhi Proposals

Simon Commission/Report

1928: Nehru Report

1929: Jinnah's fourteen points

Salt March

1930: Allahabad Address

First Round Table Conference Nov 1930

1931: Gandhi-Irwin Pact

Second Round Table Conference Sept 1931

1932: The Communal Award

Third Round Table Conference Nov 1932

1934: White Paper Bill

1935: The Government of India Act

1937: Elections

1937-39: Congress rule/tyranny

1939: Outbreak of Second World War (1939-45)

Day of Deliverance

1940: Lahore Resolution

1942: Cripps Mission/Quit India Resolution

1944: Gandhi - Jinnah talks

1945: Simla Conference/Elections

1946: Cabinet Mission Plan

Direct Action Day

1947: 3rd June Plan or Indian Independence Act

Pakistan and India created

Timeline 1947-99

Section III: Nationhood 1947-99

Political rule (1947-99):

- Jinnah/Quaid e Azam (1947-48) ----- Liaquat Ali Khan (P.M)
- Khwaja Nazimuddin (1948-51) ----- Liaquat Ali Khan (P.M)
- Ghulam Muhammad (1951-55) ----- Khwaja Nazimuddin (P.M)

Muhammad Ali Bogra (P.M)

Iskander Mirza (1955-58) ----- Chaudhry Muhammad Ali (P.M)

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar (P.M)

Hussain Shaheed Soharwardhy (P.M)

Feroze Khan Noon (P.M)

Ayub Khan (Chief Martial Law Administrator)

- Ayub Khan/CMLA (1958-69)
- Yahya Khan/CMLA (1969-71)
- Zulfikar Ali Bhutto/CMLA (1971-73)
- Fazal Elahi Chaudhry (1973-78) ----- Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (P.M)
- Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq/CMLA (1978-88) ----- Muhammad Junejo Khan (P.M)
- Ghulam Ishaq Khan (1988-90) ----- Benazir Bhutto (P.M)
- Ghulam Ishaq Khan (1990-93) ----- Nawaz Sharif (P.M)
- Farooq Ahmed Leghari (1993-96) ----- Benazir Bhutto (P.M)
- Jahengir Karamat (1997-99) ----- Nawaz Sharif (P.M)

1947: Pakistan becomes a member of UNO

1948: Ceasefire in Kashmir

India invades Hyderabad (Deccan)

1949: Objectives Resolution passed

Liaquat-Nehru Pact; PRODA introduced

1950: Basic Principles Committee drafted constitution

1951: Liaquat Ali Khan assassinated

A Five Year Plan

1952: Revised Report of Basic Principles Committee

1953: Food and water shortages in Pakistan due to Korean War, U.S aid

1954: Constitutional Crisis/Maulvi Tamizuddin's case

Membership in SEATO

1955: General Elections

The 'One Unit' Policy

Membership in CENTO

1956: New constitution formed (parliamentary form of govt.)

1957-58: Political instability/change of P.Ms

1958: Martial Law imposed

1959: Basic Democracies

1962: A new constitution (presidential form of govt.)

Oil refinery set up in Pakistan

1964: Regional Cooperation Development (RCD) with Iran and Turkey

1965: War with India

1967: Islamabad as new capital

1969: Ayub Khan resigns

1970: General Elections

Sheik Mujib-ur-Rahman's Six Points

1971: Operation Searchlight

Civil War in East Pakistan

1972: Pakistan left SEATO, CENTO and Commonwealth

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto became Prime Minister

1973: Constitution of 1973 (parliamentary form of govt.)

1974: Lahore Summit organised by OIC

India carried Nuclear tests; Nuclear race started

1977: General Elections of 1977; rigging by PPP

Operation Fairplay, military coup by Zia-ul-Haq

1978: National Assembly and other assemblies dissolved

Martial Law imposed by Zia-ul-Haq

1979: Bhutto hanged; murder of Nawab Ahmed Kasuri

Start of Afghan-Soviet War, Afghan Jihad (1979-88) in Afghanistan

1980: Policy of Islamisation; Hudood Ordinances by Zia

1983: Siachen Glacier issue

1984: Referendum for Zia

1985: General Elections of 1985; Muhammad Khan Junejo became Prime Minister

Eighth Amendment in constitution

1988: Ojhri Camp Incident

Martial Law lifted

Zia died in plane crash

General Elections; Benazir Bhutto became Prime Minister

Vote of No confidence

1989: Benazir met Rajiv Gandhi

1990: Pucca Qila Massacre; drug trafficking to Pakistan

Govt. dismissed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan with Eighth Amendment

1991: Fresh elections, Nawaz Sharif became Prime Minister by the support of IJI (Islami Jamhuri Ittehad)

Yellow cabs schemes; BCCI scandal; Co-operative socities scandal, Kalashinklov culture

Twelfth Amendment and Shariat Bill passed

1993: Govt. dismissed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan with Eighth Amendment

Sharif's case in Supreme Court; President and Prime Minister both resigned

General Elections; PPP won and Benazir became Prime Minister

Farooq Ahmed Leghari appointed as President

1996: Mir Murtaza Bhutto killed in police ambush

Devaluation of Pakistani rupee and loss to US aid

Asif Ali Zardari sent to jail for corruption and misuse of power

Train March by Nawaz Sharif from Karachi to Peshawar

Govt. dismissed by President Farooq Ahmed Leghari with Eighth Amendment

1997: Nawaz Sharif becomes Prime Minister with two-third majority seats

Thirteenth Amendment and Fourteenth Amendment in the constitution

1998: Nuclear tests carried out by Pakistan

Criticism by USA, UK and Western powers; economic sanctions placed

1999: Lahore Declaration; Kargil Conflict

Pervez Musharraf appointed Chief of Army Staff

Overthrew Nawaz Sharif by a military coup